top of page

Making Knowledge Meaningful

Knowledge management is a personal mission for me.

How do I manage all of the valuable information I come across in a day, what networks can I tap into that help me learn.

We are all knowledge workers that Peter Drucker talks about. We take our knowledge with us everywhere. The website serves as a personal way for me to organize my knowledge and make it readily accessible. It enables me to reinforce the knowledge in my head in external nodes that I can purposefully link together. Thanks to technology I’m never far from my knowledge network.

The concept of tacit knowledge resonated deeply with me as it’s our very own compilation box set of our biggest hits. It’s what makes us unique and the ability to share our knowledge with others is a critical skill of educators. We take knowledge in, make sense of it and attempt to share it back in a variety of ways to meet the needs of our learners. We attempt to make the unseen tacit knowledge explicitly come alive and there’s an energy in the sharing of knowledge that feeds the hearts of educators. I’ve watched Color By Amber leaders talk about how they feel after presenting to a large group for the first time or helping a team member learn a new skill and it makes me smile when they say how much they love it. It’s why teachers teach and why sharing knowledge unites us and makes us stronger.

You’ll notice my green threaded back loom is not the same as the other artisan. There’s a lot of tacit knowledge embedded in the weaving process that gets lost in translation from Spanish to English.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Connect
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • LinkedIn Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
bottom of page